2019 Top Reads!

2019 was a year filled with challenge and magic. Every book I’d read in 2019 had created a small place in my heart but I’m going to pick four books that made the top list! The 8 books I enjoyed reading last year was till the month of August, so in this post I’ll be picking favorites from the last 4 months!

  • Beloved – Toni Morrison

Morrison’s writing struck a chord to my heart after reading Beloved. Although it was an abstract read, I really enjoyed my time breezing through the book. Beloved is one of the kinds where the story per se doesn’t make a lot of sense but leaves you feeling overwhelmed and awestruck. That is to say, you will understand but you’ll never know how to justify her book in words. Every person has got to read it to get it. Geddit?

  • Bridge of Clay – Markus Zusak

Bear with me whilst I pour out my love for abstract novels throughout these four months. Unpopular opinion, but Bridge of Clay is my Zusak favorite! The story never made sense to me in the first part but that did not change my reading experience a bit. And that is the beauty of Zusak’s novels! I enjoyed the rhythm of words and the story rather than the story itself. If I don’t make sense, that is because I don’t. But definitely read the book! It’ll not make sense to you either but you’ll fall in love with it.

  • On Writing – Stephen King

Funny how my first Stephen King turned out to be a self-help. But doubt me not, even the self-help will make you shit your pants. Here’s what I learnt from the book but I think King still stuck to his horror while explaining what writing means to him. His straight-forward and blunt advice kept me on edge at all times and his strict persona made me follow his instructions to the end. But that is what we’re here for! Perfect blend of King’s style and self-help.

  • Blink – Malcolm Gladwell

Here’s a review for Blink but to summarize it in a few words, you’re going to be thinking the entire time you’re reading this book. It broadened the viewpoint and made me look at life from a fresh perspective. Absolutely loved reading his ideas on Blink, a book that showed a new light of humanity.


I cannot wait to read more books written by these authors or even re-visit some of them! Have you read any of these? What are your views on them!

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started